Writing jewellery product descriptions

I had some fun mid-February writing product descriptions for jewellery – 63 of them!

My friend writes blog posts for an American company that makes jewellery – primarily using pearls. As product descriptions are not her thing, she asked if I could assist. She sent me a photo of a product to try and this is what I wrote:

The subtle tones of multicoloured pearls – gathered with black pearls and crystalline beads – hint at cool autumn temperatures and the coming of winter. This necklace, with its elegant clusters, is  sufficiently bold to complement floaty fabrics.

She liked and I got the commission to write another 62 of these.

Although I’ve done loads of descriptions for running shoes and sports equipment and apparel, I have never done jewellery. It was fun and I got totally adjectived out.

I was delighted to receive feedback via my friend from the client.

“She loves it. Six exclamation marks.”

I’ll be writing these regularly for her, each time her client loads new products.

